Only an Incoming Proprietor or a Proprietor on Title can join a Workspace. This functionality is not available for any other roles, for example, Incoming Caveators, Incoming Mortgagees, Mortgagees on Title.
If a Workspace has already been opened, and the Subscriber is in the role of Incoming Proprietor or Proprietor on Title, they will see the Existing Workspace pop up screen (formally the Duplicate Land Title pop up screen) and now have the option to join. The Subscriber will then have to tick a checkbox to confirm that they are authorised to represent the said party.
If an invitation has already been sent to the Subscriber, they will only see a ‘View Invitation’ option on the Existing Workspace pop up screen.
The Subscriber will be responsible for removing themselves from the Workspace. The existing Subscribers in the Workspace may request that the party who erroneously joined to remove themselves. Failing which, as they do today, existing Subscribers in the Workspace will need to escalate the matter to PEXA Support.
Once the matter is escalated to PEXA Support, PEXA will then request the party remove themselves from the Workspace, or face the possibility of suspension.
Note that the Participation Agreement has been updated to include the obligation for Subscribers to join Workspaces only if they have the authorisation to represent a said party to the transaction. Persistent failure to comply could be met with suspension.
The following changes were incorporated in the Participation Agreement in May. The revised agreement was shared with all Subscribers via the May Clicks and Mortar newsletter (and direct by email for those who have unsubscribed to the newsletter)
4.1 (f): to only enter an Electronic Workspace where the Subscriber is authorised to represent party to a Conveyancing Transaction involving the Land Title Reference, the subject of the Electronic Workspace;
Subscribers will be able to see title details, which is available in a title search. As per today, when Subscribers join a Workspace upon acceptance of an invitation, they will be able to see any information, if already entered that a Subscriber in that role would be able to view.